Skip navigation

Mamapro at the Mom for Marriage blog (http://mamapro.blogspot.com/) reprinted a list of talking points from Scott Loveless, the Acting Managing Director of the World Family Policy Center at the J. Reuben Clark Law school, BYU.  See the list here.  All of the talking points are insightful and effective, but my favorite is #13 – it doesn’t end with redefining marriage.  I know it sounds alarmist to list all of the bad things that might happen if Prop 8 fails, but the reality this that many if not all of the bad things will happen based on the historical record we have before us.  It is sadly true that those that do not learn from history will repeat it.

3 Comments

    • john
    • Posted October 15, 2008 at 2:02 am
    • Permalink

    I support prop 8. The minority does not have the right to redefine and change the definition of a heterosexual relationship. Same sex individuals have their rights and if they feel they lack some they should make laws to change legal rights, not a definition of marriage.

  1. I have no issue tolerating religious people, I even work with a few of them and I could tell they were religious before they even told me…..I love and tolerate them like I love my crazy uncle Joe the plumber that refers to black people by the N-word…I know he doesn’t really mean it; it’s just the way he was raised…. What gets at me is that I shouldn’t have liberal elite judges legislating from the bench and telling me that I have to accept their lifestyle choices. I most certainly draw the line at any of these radicals forcing innocent children into that lifestyle….I mean nobody is born that way it’s a choice they make and are very proud of. I am even OK with this pride and the special rights they have where they can park in the middle of the road on Sundays and not pay taxes. But I would really prefer it if these people would just keep quiet, stop trying to define how others should think and live and stop pushing their lifestyle choices on those who don’t agree with them.

    • beetlebabee
    • Posted October 27, 2008 at 2:47 am
    • Permalink

    It’s completely terrifying that they would want this kind of confusion in the schools.

    The more I look at it the clearer it becomes, gay rights activists have an agenda. They say that gayness is not a choice, that it’s genetically driven, so we shouldn’t deny them their lifestyle and we’re discriminating if we do. But the statistics show that children raised in a gay environment are much more likely to choose the gay lifestyle themselves.

    While there may be some genetic component, the consensus is that it is most likely a combination of genetics and societal influence. For instance, one of our high schools is having a rash of homosexual type experimentation because it’s become the edge thing to do.

    That has everything to do with environment and nothing to do with genetics. That a school would choose to immerse the future generations with this kind of crosstalk and confusion is unfathomable.

    http://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/10/22/its-not-about-inclusion/


Leave a Reply

